Press Here
MONDAYS @ 6:30 PM
CALIFORNIA NONSTOP

Scam Uses Fake Facebook Photo Updates

Facebook scammers are using photo updates emailed directly to users.

Email
|
Print

    NEWSLETTERS

    Getty Images/Science Photo Libra
    A malware scam is flowing through Facebook.

    A spreading scam is exposing Facebook users to malware. An email arrives with "One of your Friends added a new photo of you..." and it needs to be ignored.

    The jist of the note is that one of your friends added a photo and that you're listed as a close friend. Included is a slick, Facebook-like blue greeting. The click button reads, "View photo with you in the attachment." Yeah, don't be clicking on that. 

    The Next Web and Sophos report that malware is Troj/Agent-XNN.

    Check Facebook Security for any additional measures you can take to protect yourself. Bottom line: don't open attachments unless you know the sender.