The first See's Candy Shop and kitchen was designated a historic-cultural monument today by the City Council, which found that it "reflects the founding of an iconic company."
It was in the building near the corner of Western and First streets that the distinctive See's Candy Shop design of white storefronts and interiors, black-and-white tiled floors and black-on-white lettering was born.
Charles Alexander See founded the company in 1921, making candy using his mother's recipes. It is now California's largest manufacturer of boxed chocolate, with more than 200 shops in 10 states and four countries.
The original store's designation as a historic-cultural monument means that future construction at the site will be regulated to protect its historic and cultural significance and architectural integrity.