LinkedIn Now Lets You Block Members

63406415
Getty Images

LinkedIn finally caved into pressure from users and added member blocking to its list of features, according to a new report.

The new service will let users keep other members from accessing profiles, interacting with them and keeping an eye on their network activity, according to TechCrunch. The new privacy control will keep all that information from any other "logged-in member."

"We built this feature not only because it was a feature our members requested, but because we also knew it was the right thing to do," wrote Paul Rockwell, head of Trust &Safety at LinkedIn.

U.S. & World

News from around the country and around the globe

NBA, Celebs React to Kobe Bryant Death

Defense Resumes in Key Impeachment Week; Dems Seek Witnesses

The blocking feature can be used by visiting the offending member's profile (Rockwell suggests visiting anonymously by changing you settings) and finding the blocking feature in a drop-down box on the person's profile which reads "Block or report."

While this may be helpful to some, we thought the idea of LinkedIn was to expand your network rather than limit it. Sure, we don't want to equip a stalker with more information, but likely the blocked people will be those the user hardly knows -- and likely shouldn't have been been added as connections in the first place.
Contact Us