Clayton Kershaw Dominates NL Cy Young Voting

The 23-year-old lefty bests Roy Halladay, Cliff Lee

In a season marred by problems off the field, Dodger fans have a reason to celebrate Thursday as left-hander pitcher Clayton Kershaw took home the NL Cy Young Award.

"I'm extremely thankful and humbled by this award. The company that I'm in now... just to be mentioned with some of those guys. I'm just in awe. I never thought I'd be here," said the pitcher in a statement.

Kershaw, who received 27 of 32 first-place votes, was the runaway winner with a total of 207 points. The Phillies' Roy Halladay came in second with 133. Cliff Lee, also of the Phillies, netted 90 points in his third place finish.

Kershaw also won the NL's Triple Crown for pitchers with 21 wins (tied with Arizona's Ian Kennedy), a 2.28 ERA and 248 strikeouts.

He is the first Dodger to win the pitching triple crown since Sandy Koufax won it for a third in 1966. The pitching legend also took the honor in 1963 and 1965. Dazzy Vance is the only other Dodger pitcher to win the honor (1924).

The last Dodger to win 20 games was Ramon Martinez in 1990.

Kershaw, 23, is the youngest NL recipient since Dwight Gooden won the award in 1985 at the age of 20.

Contact Us