Turn on your headlights.
It's been awhile since LA has had a chance to drive in the rain, so it's easy to understand how some drivers might have forgotten that they're now legally required to turn on the headlights whenever it's raining hard enough to use wiper blades. Consider this a gentle reminder, if not a way to save yourself the cost of a ticket.
It's right there in the California Driver's Handbook, which, of course, we've all read: "If weather conditions require you to use your windshield wipers, you must turn on your headlights."
While we're on the subject, there's a couple other regulations of which you might not be aware, or forgot about. Effective Jan. 1, 2008, California put a law into effect that bans smoking in cars when children under 18 are present. Violators could face fines up to $100.
And, we know you didn't forget the handsfree law that prohibits cell phone use while driving, except with a handsfree device. Not that it's safer, but, fines range from $20 for a first offense to $50 after that.