Rev. Jesse Jackson Endorses Karen Bass

Bass, 56, is seeking the seat being vacated by Rep. Diane Watson

The Rev. Jesse Jackson Monday endorsed former California Assembly Speaker Emeritus Karen Bass' bid for the state's 33rd Congressional District seat.

Jackson made the endorsement while in town to speak during a prayer service at First AME Church in South Los Angeles for Louisiana residents and others affected by the oil spill along the Gulf of Mexico coast.

Bass, 56, is seeking the seat being vacated by Rep. Diane Watson, D-Los Angeles, who is retiring after three decades in politics. The 33rd District includes Culver City, Baldwin Hills, Ladera Heights, Windsor Hills, Hancock Park, Hollywood, the Wilshire corridor and Koreatown.

"Karen Bass has demonstrated political vision, leadership and legislative acumen as Speaker of the California State Assembly and her years in public office," Jackson said in a prepared statement. "She is a true grassroots community leader. When it comes to education, health care, fighting home foreclosures and for bank reform, she can be counted on to represent our communities and people."

Bass was elected to the California Assembly in 2004 from Los Angeles' 47th District. She made history in 2008 when she became the first African American woman elected Assembly speaker.

However, the former community organizer cannot seek re-election due to term limits.

In addition to Jackson, Bass has also been endorsed by several other political leaders including Watson, Congresswoman Maxine Waters, Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa and Sen. Dianne Feinstein.


Get Los Angeles's latest local news on crime, entertainment, weather, schools, COVID, cost of living and more. Here's your go-to source for today's LA news.

LA Metro is offering free transportation for Election Day

Thousands of pro-Palestine protesters block downtown LA streets to call for ceasefire

The other candidates for the 33rd Congressional District seat are Democrats Nick Juan Mostert, Felton Newell and Morris F. Griffin and Republicans Phil Jennerjahn, David C. Crowley II and James L. Andion.

Copyright CNS - City News Service
Contact Us