Kershaw, Trout Nab MVP Honors

Clayton Kershaw was so dominant this season he ended a 46-year drought. The Dodgers star left-hander has won the National League MVP award a day after winning the Cy Young award. He becomes the first to win both in the same season since Bob Gibson in 1968.

Kershaw got 18 of the 30 first place votes to out-points Florida's Giancarlo Stanton. Last year's winner Andrew McCutcheon of the Pirates wound up third in the voting by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Kershaw went 21-3 this season with a 1.77 ERA and 10.8 strikeouts per nine innings. All were tops in the major leagues. He also threw a no-hitter.

Mike Trout has finally topped the balloting. After two straight runner-up finishes, the Angels center fielder is a unanimous choice as the American League Most Valuable Player. He got all 30 first-place votes in balloting by the Baseball Writers Association of America. He's the first unanimous choice since Ken Griffey, Jr. in 1997.

The 23-year old Trout hit .287 and set career highs with 36 homers and 111 RBIs this season. He also led the majors in runs with 115 and extra-base hits with 84. Trout becomes the fifth youngest MVP in major league history.

Detroit's Victor Martinez finished second, with Cleveland's Michael Brantley third.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us